Awards of the Józef Piłsudski Institute in 2017

Pilsudski Institute of America once again has awarded great individuals in area of history, science and art. Medals will be presented at a ceremony in Consulate General of the Republic of Poland in New York.

This year, the Piłsudski Institute medals will be given to:

Prof. Beth Holmgren, professor of Slavic and Eurasian Studies, Duke University - Wacław Jędrzejewicz History Award,

Prof. Tadeusz Malinski, chemist, specializing in bionanotechnology in medical basic science, Ohio University - Maria Sklodowska-Curie Science Award,

Lubomir Tomaszewski, the Polish-American painter, sculptor and designer - Ignacy Paderewski Arts and Music Award,

Leszek Dlugosz, poet, actor, composer and pianist - Ignacy Paderewski Arts and Music Award

In recent years, the Pilsudski Institue awarded distinguished individuals, among others: Barbara Mikulski, US senator, Zbigniew Gluza, publisher, Dr. Hilary Koprowski, microbiologist, Richard M. Watt, writer, prof. Andrzej Nowak, historian, prof. Timothy Snyder, historian, prof. Krzysztof Szwagrzyk, historian, Henryk Górecki, composer, Rafał Olbiński, graphic artist, Andrzej Pityński, sculptor and Alina Czerniakowska, documentary filmmaker.

Wacław Jędrzejewicz History AwardMaria Skłodowska-Curie Science Award

Ignacy Paderewski Arts and Music Award